Mirror Mirror on the Wall

I was a painfully shy child, always the outsider wanting desperately to blend into the crowd. My dark hair, dark eyes, and dark skin made it difficult. I was told I was “too dark” by Indian Aunts and Uncles. As a child, an immigrant in Canada, I was also often the only dark skinned person in my class.

One of the many things I wished I could change about myself was my name….oh how I hated my name. Why couldn’t my name be Sara? S..A..R..A, such a pretty name – only four letters, and easy to pronounce.

When I saw this speech by Lupita Nyong’o (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZPCkfARH2eE), I was reminded of my own struggles with beauty. I am grateful that our understanding of beauty has evolved considerably over the years, but we still have a ways to go. I have come to realize that beauty really does radiate from inside, nurture the spirit and we flourish and shine.

Leave a Reply

