About Happiness

I recently read Shawn Achor’s “Before Happiness” and the “Happiness Advantage”, I found both books provided insightful and helpful tips. One that I have been trying to practice daily is gratitude. I fall into the “not good enough” trap very easily, forgetting too quickly all the great things in my life. Before I go to bed I think back to the last 24 hours and identify three things that I am grateful for. I have been doing this for about month and it really has affected my mood for the better. So tonight before I go to bed I write this post and the three things that I am grateful for today:

1. Morning naps with Niko – I look at this picture and remember this morning at about 9am when we were napping – I am so very grateful to have this time with my son.

photo-94

2. “Family Day” Holiday in Canada. We went to a local cafe for brunch, and then spent the afternoon watching a movie on our laptop and playing with Niko. A lovely lazy day with my two guys.

IMG_3051

3. I had a great spin class! Spinning – have you tried it? It gives me the burst of energy I need to take me to the end of my day. I was able to take a class yesterday – it has been hard to fit in classes regularly, grateful when I can.

Link to Shawn Achor and his work on Happiness, this link also provides the clip from his TEDx lecture: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/shawn-achor/happiness-leads-to-success_b_940611.html

A related link: http://themindunleashed.org/2013/10/10-easy-things-that-will-make-you.html

Leave a Reply

