Rwanda on my mind….

Sitting at my dining table, drinking Tanzanian coffee, and looking at my baskets from Rwanda. I thought I would post a few pictures and a little blurb about where the baskets come from…

photo-122 photo-120

While working on a project in Rwanda, I heard about Covanya Cooperative located in Nyamata – about an hours drive outside of Kigali. The cooperative is made up of about 40 woman weavers that make beautiful Agaseke and Plateau baskets. I really believe in the cooperative model – it has the potential for great things. However as an development anthropologist I also see the other side that is not always so glossy – this post is about the beauty at the cooperative and in the country….

rwanda1

394079_10151309271640298_1856205577_n

409210_10151264243835298_1219799081_n

Looking at these pictures again makes me smile…..

Leave a Reply

